EEeee! Money in the mail!

I just got my first check for a letter to the editor! Eeeee! Only £10, but it’s my first real money earned from writing. I am so excited!

The return on reader letters is tough. I’ve written and submitted 9 to various publications and have received one email (‘thanks for your input’) and now one payment indicating publication. I realise that the magazines are flooded with letters, and so I should expect the acceptance to be low, but finally I feel some small measure of success. At least now I have one printed. I’ll scan it and post it here after I run to the shop to buy a couple of copies!

Off to the shop! 😀

UPDATE! I went to the shop and the issue has already been replaced by the next one! 😦 I’ll check the library, and I plan on ordering a back issue. * sigh * I guess that’s what I get for giving up. (I’d submitted the letter in March!)

Technorati Tags: ,

~ by Jen on Thursday, 22 June 2006 - 10:03am.

Leave a Reply

 
