How dark to make it?

With the fiction project solidifying in my mind more, I’m at the point where I’m thinking about how dark certain aspects of the story should become. I know it’s early and I know I don’t have to decide this now, but I’m new to this process and so I’m – perhaps prematurely – thinking about it.

I bought a book on writing horror today, aptly titled: “On Writing Horror: A Handbook by the Horror Writers Association” (Horror Writers Association)
The above link goes to the American Amazon site, as the book I purchased was imported. The UK edition is likely this one: “On Writing Horror: A Handbook by ”The Horror Writers of America“” (The Horror Writers of America)

I’m not certain if the story I’m working on will technically be a horror tale, but there are dark elements. I’ll let it evolve naturally.

~ by Jen on Sunday, 1 April 2007 - 8:32pm.

Leave a Reply

 
